My Opportunity in the Honors College Praxis Lab: The Valley as a Laboratory

8114aa_f7c0e8ab3ae34b99aaba2308dde6d21b

September 14, 2014

After experiencing my first few weeks in this praxis lab, my mind has been completely opened to new points of view and perspective from the readings, discussions, assignments, documentaries, and conversations I have had thus far.  I am thrilled with this opportunity.  I believe that in collaboration with my amazing and talented classmates, we will all be able to unite under one passionate movement towards improving our beautiful city.  What is even more incredible is that we have a $5,000 grant to fund our project of choice.  I hope that we can fundraise and potentially expand this money into a bigger fund, and hopefully get larger organizations to support our ideas.  I personally hope to create some sort of non-profit organization that I can stay tied to and involved with even as my time at the University of Utah ends, come my graduation.  What really matters is that this project makes a positive impact in our city, encourages social interaction, mediates gatherings, and initiates a positive response in others that hopefully inspires other people in Salt Lake City to want to produce similar changes.  We have an entire year, but it is already moving faster than I can blink.  We are coming up on our fourth class meeting, and still have so much to learn and discuss.  I am ecstatic!   I truly believe that this collaboration will make a difference in our city.

Leave a comment